2016 Region 2 Championship

Hosted by the Mifflin Soaring Association

Mon. May 23rd - Sat. May 28th (Unofficial Practice Sun. May 22nd)

Mifflin County Airport (RVL), Reedsville, PA

Home  Registration  Entry List  Turnpoints  Ridge Running  Weather  Mifflin Contests  Mifflin Trophy  Accomodations

The Mifflin Trophy

The Mifflin trophy is awarded each year for the longest flight* made during the contest (excluding guests). The trophy was created by the Mifflin County Airport Authority in 2008 as a way of supporting the soaring competitions that have been held at the airport since 1990.  All the design and fabrication of the trophy was done by members of the Authority who applied the skills and resources of their private occupations to provide this award. The winning pilot receives a winnerís plaque while the trophy remains at the airport with the winnerís names added each year.

* Starting in 2010, the longest flight will be determined after applying the SSA Sports Class handicap for the aircraft and using the unadjusted handicap weight.


Name Distance (sm)
2008 Sean Murphy 230.64
2009 Mike Robison 375.37
2010 Tim Welles 292.64
2011 Jerzy Szemplinski 189.84
2012 John Cochrane 213.22
2013 Karl Striedieck 367.91
2014 John Good / Nico Bennet 307.66
2015 John Good 385.23